PRGE Punk Song and Knit Pattern Challenge

anticraft dead boyfriend punk sweateranticraft dead boyfriend punk sweateranticraft dead boyfriend punk sweateranticraft dead boyfriend punk sweaterWe had a contest for Punk Rock Gift Exchange, in which we were tasked to send our three favorite songs to our pal and then translate the three songs sent to us into knitting projects. Here we go:

So the first song my pal sent me was “Undone” by Weezer, AKA “The Sweater Song.” OMG, it was so funny:

anticraft dead boyfriend punk sweater

If you want to destroy my sweater
Hold this thread as I walk away
Watch me unravel, I’ll soon be naked
Lying on the floor, lying on the floor
I’ve come undone.

Immediately, I thought of the first issue at The Anticraft, Samhain 2005, and their “Curse Your Boyfriend” sweater: “To remove boyfriend: Mix one handknit sweater with appropriate runes. Serve cold.”

The next one was “I Miss You” by Blink 182. There were so many sort of ethereal, 20s romantic patterns I thought of for this one thanks to the theme of the video, but instead I chose something a bit more fun and punk: Knitty’s Jackyll and Hyde hat based on scary Jack Skellington alluded to in the lyrics.

We can live like Jack and Sally if we want
Where you can always find me
We’ll have Halloween on Christmas
And in the night, we’ll wish this never ends.
We’ll wish this never ends.

The last was “Lost in the Supermarket” by the Clash. I had the hardest time with this one for some reason. Definitely over-thought it. Finally, I ditched the deeper meaning and the isolated in a suburban crowd feel of the song and went for the obvious: the knit corn, tomatoes, celery, broccoli and carrots at Magknits.

Okay, that about does it! Can’t wait to see what my pal did with my three songs.

1 Comment

  1. Hey You!! I got the package and all I can say is you absolutely rock (and you made my young one’s day–he loved the patches and I got to keep one). I will post about it tomorrow as I have to leave for work in a couple of minutes. I will gush on and on about the contents on my blog 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • More Helpful Links: